Welcome Bella to the Kula Family!

Please welcome our newest team member Bella Toscano! Bella is brings an intense focus for progress, spunk, and pure excitement for life to our family, and we can’t wait to see how she will use her gifts and qualities to further Kula’s work. Below are three questions to help you get to know her a little bit! 

If you could wake up tomorrow and be anywhere in the world that you’ve never been, where would it be, and why?

I would wake up in Cambodia with my mother (my second choice would be Sicily – where my father was born☺). My mother was born and raised there but was forced out of her home by the Khmer invasion – she and her family were then sponsored to come to the US. She has not yet had the chance to go back but I would love to someday go with her to explore her home country and my family’s heritage. I would also love to spend some time there to educate myself on the countries issues and perhaps find a way to make their quality of living better than it is now.

Tell us about one moment that changed the course of your life.

My father being diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis. It wasn’t exactly a moment alone – more like the months leading up to his passing. Before his diagnosis, I can admit that the only person I truly cared about the most was myself. However, after he became ill everything about me changed. I learned how to be a care taker rather than the one who had to be cared for. I began to realize that struggles make you strong and that we are all worth the struggle – you never have to let hardship turn you bitter. Unfortunately, I also learned how quickly a life can be taken and that you should never waste too much time being ungrateful for the things that you have now or angry with the ones you love. My father’s illness was the reason for awakening the part of me that has a passion for helping those in need – especially those who remain silent because they cannot or do not know how to be a voice for their own issues.

What would the ideal Sunday look like for you?

My ideal Sunday would definitely depend on my mood and the weather. I have my extroverted days, so some Sunday’s call for getting a group of friends together to go hiking and exploring or just grabbing a volleyball and playing a few games on a sand court. Other Sundays, my INFJ-self enjoys going for hikes and exploring all on my own (with my pup), finding a nice sunny spot (because I’m part feline) and indulging in a good book, catching up on my studies or just not doing anything at all. I also enjoy volunteering my time to TeamWorks! Atlanta and Community Bucket where I can do good and meet new people.

no replies

Leave your comment